Leaving On A Jet Plane

La Boqueria: Barcelona's world-famous market.

Cheap Beets has saved and saved and saved, and now it is time for a vacation. Tomorrow evening, Rich and I will be leaving on a jet plane for Barcelona. We’re excited for architecture and art, and a visit to La Boqueria, of course. Then we’re taking the overnight train to Madrid, to see the Prado and maybe some flamenco. Rich is getting quite excited for all the jamon; I’m excited for the boquerones.  Spain: A country that wanted to get rid of Jews and Muslims so badly, they put pig in everything.

We’re flying from Madrid to the Netherlands and staying with friends in Rotterdam. Our amazing friend has already reserved our bicycles so we can just wake up the next morning and cycle to Lisse to visit the Keukenhof. Yes, that’s right: We’re bicycling through tulip fields. Then it’s off to Belgium to enjoy Antwerp and Bruges. Good beer, frites, chocolate and mussels for Rich await us in Flanders. Finally, we’ll be back on our bikes for a day in Amsterdam.

We’ll be back in time for Passover and with that, more recipes. I won’t be blogging during the trip, but I should be posting interesting photos on the Cheap Beets Facebook page. As always, thanks for reading, and I’ll see you in a few weeks.

19 thoughts on “Leaving On A Jet Plane

  1. Oh my gosh! Have a great time!!! I was in Barcelona at about this time last year… stop by the Palau de la Musica Catalana if you have time. It’s breathtaking. Also, FYI: they sell (surprisingly agreeable) ham-flavored potato chips.

  2. Ahhhh! I love Barcelona! Parc Guell is one of my favorite places on Earth!

    Are you staying with Mel & CO? Have a fantastic time & give them lots of hugs & kisses from me!!

  3. I hope you have a wonderful holiday. I’m relatively new to your blog and don’t post often, but I wanted you to know how much I enjoy what you do here. Your blog is a lovely place to visit and there is always something to keep me coming back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. sounds like a fantastic trip! i did something similar with my husband a few years ago. we biked around belgium and holland and took the train everywhere too. i loved it! can’t wait to hear of your adventures!!

    • Welcome! Thank you so much for stopping by. The Spain part of our trip is up and I hope to get up some photos and tales of The Netherlands part up in the next few days. My husband is now a bit obsessed with us moving to overseas; the idea of using bicycles and trains for our transportation needs is very very appealing to him.

  5. Love your writing Molly! You really evoke Spain – I have very fond memories of pa amb tomàquet from Majorca, and boquerones from Granada, and of course the busy, bustling and very delicious market of La Boqueria in Barcelona. Well done on seeking out veg/pescatrian options in such a carnivorous environment.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by. I hope to post more photos of my visits to food markets in the next day or so. I have shots from a market in Bruges that I’d like to get up as well.

Leave a Reply

