Balancing Act

I was almost punched last week at the acupuncturist. Not by the acupuncturist — they use needles and not fists — but by another patient in the office who thought I had snatched her appointment. No fists were thrown and everything was sorted out, and the woman in charge of the calendar apologized profusely for the mix-up. It turns out the woman I’d been seeing is a coveted appointment. I had no idea but did know I’d been feeling much better and not nearly in as much pain as I could be.

Two weeks ago she instructed me to only have warm things to balance out my qi (pronounced chi), my life force. Rich, as you can imagine, thinks it’s a bunch of hooey, but I’ve taken her advice to heart and have avoided anything straight from the fridge, although it’s been a little challenging finding sweet, warm snacks that are low in fat (to not upset the reflux). My drink of choice has become hot water and honey — it’s really delicious — and was quite pleased with myself when I realized a baked (or, in a pinch, microwaved) sweet potato would do the trick when I’ve wanted a little something to munch.

All this qi balancing doesn’t mean that I’ve ignored my other responsibilities. Last week, when my boss announced an ice cream sundae party, I did not neglect my duties, even though I didn’t partake.

This peanut butter cup ice cream is a riff off a Ben & Jerry’s peanut butter ice cream recipe. Adding the peanut butter cups just seemed like a no-brainer. We used dark chocolate peanut butter cups because they were there and sounded like they’d be delicious. The ice cream was received to great reviews, but I have to admit I haven’t had a taste.

Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream adapted from Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream & Dessert Cookbook

Ingredients
2 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups heavy or whipping cream
1 cup milk
1/3 cup smooth peanut butter

1 cup Reese’s mini peanut butter cups, quartered

Directions
Place the chopped peanut butter cups into the freezer while you prepare the ice cream

Whisk the eggs in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy, 1 to 2 minutes.Whisk in the sugar, a little at a time, then continue whisking until completely blended, about 1 minute more. Pour in the cream and milk and whisk to blend.

Pour about 1 cup of the cream base into a separate bowl and whisk in the peanut butter, a little at a time. Return the peanut butter mixture to the remaining cream base and stir until well blended.

Transfer the mixture to an ice cream maker and freeze following the manufacturer’s instructions.

After the ice cream stiffens (about 2 minutes before it is done), add the candy, then continue freezing until the ice cream is ready.

Move the prepared ice cream into a 1-quart container and freeze for 2 hours before serving.

4 thoughts on “Balancing Act

  1. Molly, I admire your ability to resist this ice cream. A long time ago I had the same diagnosis from an acupuncturist. At the time I was topping off many a late night restaurant shift with a bowl of ice cream–not so good (and not good for the waistline either.) I think there might be something to it, though, so stick with it and see how you feel–maybe you should make some warm chocolate desserts or drink hot chocolate when you crave something sweet! (It’s my new snack of choice made with cocoa powder, skim milk and a teensy bit of sugar or honey, not so bad, really, once you get past the skim milk, and a modest number of calories to boot.)

  2. This sounds good…I used to be very addicted to peanut butter cups. I’m so sorry you didn’t get to have any! Meanwhile you’ll have to start buying all those different specialty honeys–manukka, buckwheat, etc–might as well become a conoisseur while you’re at it!

Leave a Reply

