Worth Sharing

I’m not a huge food photo sharer on Facebook. The truth is, there are more photos of my cat on Facebook then there are of meals I’ve enjoyed. (Yes, I’m one of those people that can never get enough photos of cats or people’s children on the Internet. Share a photo of one of those two things, or better yet, together, and you’ll get a “like” from me.)

Tonight I posted a photo of dinner to Facebook with the caption “CSA Shakshuka!” I received a few thumbs up, but also a question as to what shakshuka is. Well, let me tell you about shakshuka.

The first time I’d ever heard of shakshuka was when I lived in Israel. Aleza Eve told me about the dish, a sauce made of peppers and tomatoes with eggs poached on top, and directed me to a spot in the shuk that had the best in town. After classes one afternoon, I found the shop with the famed shakshuka, but found myself drawn to the eggplant salads in the case. (I get very distracted when it comes to eggplant saladschatzeelim, as they say in Israel.) I ate my eggplant in the shade on Mt. Scopus by the Israel Museum, convincing myself I’d get the shakshuka the next time. Well, it turns out there wasn’t a next time, and the only shakshuka I’ve had has been stateside.

I’ve found shakshuka is a great use of the August CSA box which is always full of green peppers and tomatoes. Some people add onions to theirs. I think aleppo would also be nice, maybe a smidge of harissa. I found one hot pepper to be enough for me, but I know others would add at least two more. (And no, this dish is not in the least bit reflux friendly, albeit extremely delicious.) It’s also one of those chameleon dishes that can be served for breakfast, brunch, dinner or anything in between.

Shakshuka

Ingredients

2 green peppers, chopped into 1-inch pieces

1 small hot pepper, chopped into ¼ -inch pieces

5 cloves garlic, slivered

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes, or one box Pomi (Let’s be real: I rarely cook with my fresh tomatoes. Heck, I barely share mine with Rich.)

1 teaspoon freshly ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon turmeric

Two or three hearty pinches of salt

3 eggs

Directions

In a medium skillet, sauté the peppers, garlic, spices and salt in the olive oil. Cook until they soften, about six minutes. Add the tomato. Simmer, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes. The sauce should thicken. With the back of a spoon, make three dents in the sauce. Pour the eggs into each of the spots. Cover pan with lid for about four minutes. Some people like yolks that ooze. Others like stiff yolks, which means you should cook the eggs for closer to seven minutes. It’s really up to you.

Serve in low-rimmed bowls with hunks of crusty bread or pita.

12 thoughts on “Worth Sharing

  1. Love this dish! First heard about it in the old cookbook – “How to cook a wolf” by MFK Fisher. She called it “eggs in hell” though.

  2. This sounds great. Eggs, tomatoes, and peppers always go so well together. Haha you’re right. I don’t often ‘cook’ my fresh August tomatoes either. They’re just too good not to slice and eat right then. I like pomi too.

  3. I’m picking up a friend’s farm share tonight (she’s out of town) and there are always lots of green peppers. The only way I like green peppers is in shakshuka. Guess what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow!

    Also, I love the new layout of your blog, Molly. Looks great.

  4. It’s so odd how food items come in waves. I’d never heard of this until a couple of weeks ago, when I read about it in one of David Liebowitz’s blog posts about his trip to Israel. It sounded good then and it sounds even better now. You’re now up on my FOOD TO TRY board on Pinterest. Thanks. Ken

    • I’m so flattered! I really loved reading about his trip to Israel, but I think I missed the part about shakshuka. I’ll have to go back and revisit those posts. It’s a great dish, and its one that you can really fiddle with the spices to suit your own palate.

  5. I love this! I made something similar recently, because 1) our CSA that week made sense for it and 2) I’d eaten something similar 4 years ago at Sofra, a Middle Eastern cafe in Cambridge, and had craved it ever since!

Leave a Reply

